From a Patriot to a Colonel: Ben Contella will play football on the collegiate level at Wilkes University, after a solid 2021 season at Wayne Hills

Ben Contella would not be denied.

The Wayne Hills High School senior had worked long and hard to rehab a knee injury incurred in 2020, and came back with a solid football season last fall. And now, Contella will continue playing the game he’s loved since a child, at Wilkes University, for the Colonels, beginning this summer.

Celebrating a touchdown for Wayne Hills, Ben Contella will play football on the collegiate level.

“I have to say that this process was a great experience for my family and I,” said the affable Contella, the son of Cindy and Ben Contella. “It has always been a dream of mine to play college football, and now I am able to live out that dream at Wilkes University.”

Ben’s dad also played high school football, for the legendary Chet Parlavecchio, at Bloomfield High.

Contella recalled the battle he faced after a serious knee injury.

“When I was a junior, playing in our game scrimmage, I suffered a severe knee injury, tearing my ACL and meniscus,” he recalled. “After losing out on that entire season, and a year of sports, I didn’t know what the future had in store for me. Those that know of the recruiting process, junior year is when you get your name out there, and begin getting recognized by coaches.

“With this injury happening at the time it did, I feared my goals would never be reached, and was unsure if I had what it took to get back to achieving my dream of playing football. Losing my junior year also meant losing film, so coaches couldn’t recruit me, and I was unable to showcase my talents at the recruiting camps. I had to rely on my senior year alone.”

Contella credited the support of his parents, as well as his twin sister, Cassandra, for his recovery and ultimate return to the gridiron.

“I was able to get back on the field for Wayne Hills, as a two-way starter, playing running back and linebacker my senior year,” said Ben “It was very exciting getting the attention of many schools throughout the process. I was blessed enough to receive 10 offers to play football at the next level. It was great visiting schools, getting to know the coaches, and of course trying on uniforms for the photo shoots.”

Ben will be wearing a different uniform in 2022.

Located in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., Wilkes University had a solid season in 2021, finishing 6-4.

“Closing out my recruiting process, I chose the school that stuck with me since my first visit, and happened to be the first offer I received, in Wilkes University,” said Contella. “I chose Wilkes because I felt it was the right place for me. I believe it will be a great opportunity for me to be successful on the field, as well as in the classroom.”

Contella played for a solid high school program at Wayne Hills. Although the Patriots struggled in 2021, the team won a state and bowl title in Contella’s freshman year, and had winning campaigns in 2019 and 2020.

A 5’9″, 175 pounder, Contella scored seven touchdowns on the offensive side of the ball last season, and also scored on a 2-point conversion, while rushing for nearly 300 yards. He was also a force on defense, with 38 solo tackles.

Wayne Hills head coach Wayne Demikoff is looking forward to seeing how Contella will play in college.

“Ben is excited about the next chapter of his football career,” said Demikoff. “We look forward to following his career.”

Contella is also excited about the future, both in the classroom and on the field.

“Right now, I am undecided (on a major), but planning on majoring in Sports Management after my first year,” said Ben. “The coaches at Wilkes made me feel really wanted, as they seem to have a plan for my future, as a running back for the Colonels. I look forward to this next chapter of my life, and couldn’t have done this without the support of my family, coaches, and the players I have had the privilege to play with.”

Wilkes is an NCAA Division 3 program in football. The team plays in the Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC). The program’s head coach is Jonathan Drach.

By mike051893

Leave a comment