Demikoff and Wayne: Perfect together, in name and title

The Wayne Board of Education made official what most in the community were hoping was a foregone conclusion for the past few months.

Wayne Demikoff is the new head football coach at Wayne Hills High School.

Demikoff, an assistant on the staff for the last 14 seasons, replaces the legendary Chris Olsen, who guided the Patriots for the last 26 seasons to incredible successes, including eight NJSIAA championships and a 55-game winning streak which spanned from 2004-2009.

I’ve written plenty about Wayne on northjersey.com and the Wayne Today newspapers, but wanted to just say how proud I am of him. Wayne and I go back a while and I’ve been fortunate to cover a lot of Wayne Hills football games the past few years, as well as having the chance to be in the inner sanctum of coaching meetings.

I’ve had the chance to work closely with Wayne and Olsen over the last few seasons and can safely say, Wayne Demikoff will do a marvelous job for the Patriots.

I’m sure the players are thrilled, the parents are elated and a tired Demikoff will enjoy sleeping tonight.

“I’m tired,” Demikoff said to me tonight by telephone. “I can’t wait to get started now. We got a lot of work to do.”

Yes, I told him, but for now, enjoy this moment. Wayne has worked long and hard for this opportunity. Relish the moment for a little bit, pal. There will be plenty of time to watch film.

 

 

By mike051893

Leave a Reply

